This week in DIG, 1/29

Be sure to rehearse your child’s memory verse before Sunday, Feb. 5! We’ll have an opportunity to share the verse with our church family in the service.

January’s Memory Verses

Toddlers-4th Grade: Romans 8:28, 31

And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose…If God is for us, who can be against us?  (“If God Is For Us,” Seeds of Purpose, Track 9)

5th-8th Grade: NT Books of the Bible: Epistles (Romans – Revelation)

7th-8the Grade: Philippians 1:9-10

I pray that your love will overflow more and more, and that you will keep on growing in knowledge and understanding. For I want you to understand what really matters, so that you may live pure and blameless lives until the day of Christ’s return.

Toddlers: The Lost Sheep

dsc_0030

During January toddlers hear the parable of the Lost Sheep. Possible activities to do with your toddler:

  • Act out the story with your child, using the shepherds found in a nativity set.
  • Read parts of Psalm 23 and John 10.
  • Ask some wondering questions together:

I wonder what the sheep’s names were?

I wonder how the found sheep feels with the Good Shepherd?

I wonder if you know that the Good Shepherd is with you?

I wonder if the Good Shepherd has ever found you?

Preschool: Follow Me

DSC_0118.JPG

In January preschoolers are hearing about the Early Life and Ministry of Christ.

  • I wonder how the poor and sick felt being near Jesus?
  • I wonder why Peter and Andrew would leave their fishing nets and follow Jesus?
  • I wonder why some of the fisherman stayed in the boat and didn’t follow Jesus?
  • I wonder what the kingdom of God is like that Jesus is showing them?
  • I wonder where you see yourself in this story?

K-1st Grade: A Little Girl and a Poor Frail Lady

dsc_0140

This month younger elementary children focus on the Early Life and Ministry of Christ.

  • I wonder how Jairus felt as he watched his daughter get sicker?
  • I wonder how Jesus knew that someone had touched him in such a big crowd?
  • I wonder why Jesus took time with the frail lady?
  • I wonder what it was like when the little girl came back to life?
  • I wonder where you see yourself in this story?

2nd-4th Grade: Fall Review

dsc_0156

This Sunday older elementary children looked back at all their reflections from the year so far. They chose a couple favorite reflections and answered some questions about them.

  • I wonder what your favorite reflection and story were so far this year?
  • What did you like about that reflection?
  • What do you still wonder about that story? Go back and reread it with your family and see if you can answer your question.
One thought on “This week in DIG, 1/29

  1. Alyssa Humphries

    Thank you so very much for getting this out to us on Saturday! It’s so great and helpful to have it to talk w the kids about what they did in dig right when it’s over on Sundays– I mean mostly Lu but try to ask lyddie too. ;). You are so good at this job! Thank you for your investment in our children. Love you, Lys

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

