This week in DIG, 1/22

We hope you’ve found Saturday’s blog to be helpful while you discuss DIG with your children after the Sunday service!

image

January’s Memory Verses

Toddlers-4th Grade: Romans 8:28, 31

And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose…If God is for us, who can be against us?  (“If God Is For Us,” Seeds of Purpose, Track 9)

5th-8th Grade: NT Books of the Bible: Epistles (Romans – Revelation)

7th-8the Grade: Philippians 1:9-10

I pray that your love will overflow more and more, and that you will keep on growing in knowledge and understanding. For I want you to understand what really matters, so that you may live pure and blameless lives until the day of Christ’s return.

Toddlers: Little Lost Sheep

454290

During January toddlers hear the parable of the Lost Sheep. Possible activities to do with your toddler:

  • Act out the story with your child, using the shepherds found in a nativity set.
  • Read parts of Psalm 23 and John 10.
  • Ask some wondering questions together:

I wonder what the sheep’s names were?

I wonder how the found sheep feels with the Good Shepherd?

I wonder if you know that the Good Shepherd is with you?

I wonder if the Good Shepherd has ever found you?

Preschool: Jesus in the Wilderness

dsc_0117

In January preschoolers are hearing about the Early Life and Ministry of Christ.

  • I wonder what it was like for Jesus to be alone in the desert for so long?
  • I wonder what Jesus and God talked about in the desert?
  • I wonder how Jesus felt when Satan was near him?  
  • I wonder if it was hard for Jesus to say, “No!”?
  • I wonder where you see yourself in this story?

K-1st Grade: Let’s Go (Jesus in the Wilderness/Jesus Calls the Disciples)

dsc_0008

This month younger elementary children focus on the Early Life and Ministry of Christ.

  • I wonder how Jesus felt not eating for forty days?
  • I wonder how Jesus was able to refuse what the snake said?
  • I wonder how Jesus knew who to choose to be his helpers?
  • I wonder why Peter and his friends followed Jesus immediately?
  • I wonder where you see yourself in this story?

2nd-4th Grade: John Baptizes Jesus, Matthew 3:1-6, 13-17

dsc_0096

Older Elementary children will spend this month learning about the Early Life and Ministry of Christ.

  • I wonder why people needed to repent?
  • I wonder why John wore camel’s hair and ate grasshoppers?
  • I wonder what it was like to hear the voice of God calling down from heaven?
  • I wonder why God said, “This is my Son, whom I love; with him I am well pleased”?
  • I wonder where you see yourself in this story?

5th – 6th Grade: What is the Greatest Commandment? Part 2 (James 3:9, 1 John 4:20)

DSC_0024.JPG

Younger middle schoolers are learning about the Greatest Commandment.

  • Why are others worthy of our love?
  • What does it look like to love others?

7th – 8th Grade: Philippians 1:18b-30 – To Live is Christ

This semester older middle schoolers will do a book study of Philippians.

  • Did God speak to you today as you were studying Philippians?
  • What verses were particularly meaningful to you?
Leave a Reply

