This week in DIG, 1/15

January’s Memory Verses

Toddlers-4th Grade: Romans 8:28, 31

And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose…If God is for us, who can be against us?  (“If God Is For Us,” Seeds of Purpose, Track 9)

5th-8th Grade: NT Books of the Bible: Epistles (Romans – Revelation)

7th-8the Grade*: Philippians 1:9-10

I pray that your love will overflow more and more, and that you will keep on growing in knowledge and understanding. For I want you to understand what really matters, so that you may live pure and blameless lives until the day of Christ’s return.

*These students wanted to challenge themselves to memorize verses from their study of Philippians, in addition to memorizing the books of the Bible!

Toddlers: The Lost Sheep

454290

During January toddlers hear the parable of the Lost Sheep. Possible activities to do with your toddler:

  • Act out the story with your child, using the shepherds found in a nativity set.
  • Read parts of Psalm 23 and John 10.
  • Ask some wondering questions together:

I wonder what the sheep’s names were?

I wonder how the found sheep feels with the Good Shepherd?

I wonder if you know that the Good Shepherd is with you?

I wonder if the Good Shepherd has ever found you?

Preschool: Jesus is Baptized

image

In January preschoolers are hearing about the Early Life and Ministry of Christ.

  • I wonder how the people felt when John told them to change the way they live and get ready for the special Son of God?
  • I wonder if it was hard for them to change the way they lived?
  • I wonder if they felt ready to be close to the special Son of God?
  • I wonder what was your favorite part of the story?
  • I wonder if anything was confusing for you in this story?

K-1st Grade: Heaven Breaks Through

image

This month younger elementary children focus on the Early Life and Ministry of Christ.

  • I wonder how they felt when John told them to change the way they live and get ready for the special Son of God, Jesus?
  • I wonder why Jesus was baptized?
  • I wonder what it was like to see the light around Jesus and hear God’s voice from heaven?
  • I wonder if the people were ready to be close to Jesus?
  • I wonder what was your favorite part of the story?
  • I wonder if anything was confusing for you in this story?

2nd-4th Grade: Boy Jesus at the Temple, Luke 2:41-51

dsc_0012

Older Elementary children will spend this month learning about the Early Life and Ministry of Christ.

  • I wonder how Jesus felt when he was finally old enough to go to the temple by himself?
  • I wonder how Mary and Joseph felt when they couldn’t find Jesus?
  • I wonder what Jesus meant when he called the temple his “Father’s house”?
  • I wonder what was your favorite part of the story?
  • I wonder if anything was confusing for you in this story?

5th – 6th Grade: What is the Greatest Commandment? Part 1 (Mark 12:28-33, John 14:15)

DSC_0025.JPG

Younger middle schoolers will spend January learning about the Greatest Commandment.

  • Why is God worthy of your love?
  • How can you love him more fully, with ALL of your heart, soul, mind, and strength?

7th – 8th Grade: Philippians 1:12-18 – The Advance of the Gospel

This semester older middle schoolers will do a book study of Philippians.

  • Did God speak to you today as you were studying Philippians?
  • What verses were particularly meaningful to you?
Leave a Reply

