This week in DIG, 12/11

December’s Memory Verse

Toddlers-4th Grade: 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.  (“Be Joyful Always,” Seeds of Purpose, Track 12)

Infants

Toddlers: Jesus’ Birth

During December toddlers will hear the story of Christ’s Birth. Possible activities to do with your toddler:

  • Act out the story with your child, using a nativity set or costumes and props at home.
  • Mold a nativity out of playdoh with your child.
  • Talk about stables. What would it be like to sleep in one? How do you think Jesus’s family felt that first night with the animals?

Preschool: Mary, Joseph, and the Shepherds Show the Way to Bethlehem

img_8421

In December preschoolers will travel on the road to Bethlehem with the Prophets, the Shepherds, and Mary & Joseph, as they await Christ’s Birth.

  • I wonder how Mary felt when an angel spoke to her?
  • I wonder what it would be like to have God’s special child, Jesus?
  • I wonder how the shepherds felt when an angel spoke to them?
  • I wonder how they felt on the way to Bethlehem?
  • I wonder what will happen when they find Jesus?

K-1st Grade: He’s Here!

Younger elementary children focused on Gabriel’s appearance to Mary and the birth of Jesus.

  • I wonder why God came “in the darkness”? In a stable?
  • I wonder what Mary thought about Gabriel’s words?
  • I wonder what it means that Mary’s son will be the Rescuer?
  • I wonder what it was like for Mary and Joseph to hold Jesus, “God with us,” for the first time?

2nd-4th Grade: Jesus’ Birth Foretold, Luke 1:26-38       

This week older elementary children continued their Advent reflections with the story of Gabriel’s appearance to Mary.

  • I wonder why Mary was afraid when the angel spoke to her?
  • I wonder what it would be like to have God’s special child, Jesus?
  • I wonder why Mary said, “I am the Lord’s servant”?
Leave a Reply

