This Week in DIG 12/20

December’s Memory Verse

Oh God you are my God, earnestly I seek you.  My soul yearns for you, my body longs for you, in a dry and weary land where there is no water.  I’ve seen you in the sanctuary, beheld your power and your glory because your love is better life, my soul will glorify you, I will praise you.

Psalm 63:1-3, Better Than Life, Seeds of Praise, track 1

Infants

IMG_0238 (1).jpg

 

Toddlers

 

This month toddlers have been exploring the story of Jesus’s Birth

454285.jpg

Possible activities and questions to ask with your toddler:

*Act out the story with your child, using a nativity set at home.

*Talk about stables.  What would it be like to sleep in one?  How do you think Jesus’s family felt that first night with the animals?

Preschool- The Shepherds Show the Way to Bethlehem, Matthew 1-2, Luke 1-2

Preschoolers will spend all of December preparing for Christmas by following the prophets, the shepherds, the holy family, and the kings to Bethlehem.

IMG_0239.jpg

*I wonder how the shepherds felt when an angel spoke to them?

*I wonder how they felt on the way to Bethlehem?

*I wonder  if they will find the baby Jesus?

*I wonder what will happen when they find Jesus?

 

Grades K-1-Light of the World (Jesus Storybook Bible), Luke 2

Younger Elementary children continued in the  Jesus Storybook Bible with preparing for Advent .

*I wonder why the one bright star was so important?

*I wonder what it was like for the shepherds to see the angels appear in the night sky?

*I wonder what “Glory to God” means?

*I wonder what it was like for the shepherds to meet baby Jesus?

Grades 2-4, The Birth of John the Baptist, Isaiah 40:3-6, Luke 1:5-24, 57-66

Older Elementary children are spending November and some of December studying key stories of Exodus and Numbers.  For the next 2 weeks they will look at the accounts around Jesus’ birth.

*I wonder what it means to “prepare the way for the Lord? (Isaiah 40)

*I wonder what it was like for Zechariah to see the angel in the temple?

*I wonder why he didn’t believe the angel could give them a child?

*I wonder what will be come of John, their son?

Grades 5-6 What does it mean to be an image bearer?

*Read 2 Cor 5:17, Phil 1:6

*As Christians how do we become more fully human then we were before?

*What do the words image bearer mean?

*How have you seen God doing something new in you? How are you a new creation?

Grade 7-8 off

image3.JPG
The grades 7-8 class painted a large chalkboard in the foyer of the DIG space.  They are displaying some of their reflection there from their study of Mark.  Make sure to check it out!

IMG_0238 (1).jpg

Leave a Reply

