This Week in DIG 12/13

December’s Memory Verse

Oh God you are my God, earnestly I seek you.  My soul yearns for you, my body longs for you, in a dry and weary land where there is no water.  I’ve seen you in the sanctuary, beheld your power and your glory because your love is better life, my soul will glorify you, I will praise you.

Psalm 63:1-3, Better Than Life, Seeds of Praise, track 1

Infants

IMG_0224.jpgIMG_0216.jpg

IMG_0225.jpg

Toddlers

IMG_0219.jpg

IMG_0215.jpg

 

This month toddlers have been exploring the story of Jesus’s Birth

454285.jpg

Possible activities and questions to ask with your toddler:

*Act out the story with your child, using a nativity set at home.

*Talk about stables.  What would it be like to sleep in one?  How do you think Jesus’s family felt that first night with the animals?

Preschool- Mary and Joseph Show the Way to Bethlehem, IMatthew 1-2, Luke 1-2

Preschoolers will spend all of December preparing for Christmas by following the prophets, the shepherds, the holy family, and the kings to Bethlehem.

*I wonder how Mary felt when an angel spoke to her?

*I wonder what it would be like to have God’s special child, Jesus?

*I wonder how they felt on the way to Bethlehem?

Grades K-1-He’s Here (Jesus Storybook Bible), Luke 1-2

Younger Elementary children continued in the  Jesus Storybook Bible with preparing for Advent .

*I wonder why God came “in the darkness”? In a stable?

*I wonder what Mary thought about Gabriel’s words?

*I wonder what it means that Mary’s son will be the Rescuer?

*I wonder what it was like for Mary and Joseph to hold Jesus, “God with us”, for the first time?

Grades 2-4, Spying out the Promised Land, Numbers 13

Older Elementary children are spending November and some of December studying key stories of Exodus and Numbers.  This week, they explored the Isrealites spying out Canaan.  IMG_0221.jpg.

*I wonder what the Isrealites thought as they traveled to the Promise Land?

*I wonder what it means that the land was flowing with milk and honey?

*I wonder why so many of the spies were afraid to take over Canaan, the Promised Land?

*I wonder what God thinks about how the Isrealites feel?

Grades 5-6 What does it mean to be human? What allows us to deal with our brokenness and become human?

*Read Ephesians 2:1-10

*Discuss how God responds to our sin through Jesus. How does that make you feel? 

*In light of what Christ has done, how does your thinking about your sin change? Talk to God about it and journal about it.  

Grade 7-8 off

 

image3.JPG
The grades 7-8 class painted a large chalkboard in the foyer of the DIG space.  They are displaying some of their reflection there from their study of Mark.  Make sure to check it out!

 

Leave a Reply

