The Week in DIG, 12/6

December’s Memory Verse

Oh God you are my God, earnestly I seek you.  My soul yearns for you, my body longs for you, in a dry and weary land where there is no water.  I’ve seen you in the sanctuary, beheld your power and your glory because your love is better life, my soul will glorify you, I will praise you.

Psalm 63:1-3, Better Than Life, Seeds of Praise, track 1

Toddlers

 

IMG_3072.JPG

This month toddlers have been exploring the story of Jesus’s Birth

454285.jpg

Possible activities and questions to ask with your toddler:

*Act out the story with your child, using a nativity set at home.

*Talk about stables.  What would it be like to sleep in one?  How do you think Jesus’s family felt that first night with the animals?

Preschool- The Prophets Show the Way to Bethlehem, Isaiah 9:2, John 1:5

Preschoolers will spend all of December preparing for Christmas by following the prophets, the shepherds, the holy family, and the kings to Bethlehem.

*I wonder how the prophets listened to God?

*I wonder how they knew it was God who spoke?

*I wonder what Isaiah thought when God told him that the Messiah would come as a baby to be born in Bethlehem?

*I wonder what the way to Bethlehem is like?

Grades K-1-Get Ready (Jesus Storybook Bible), Nehemiah 8-10, Malachi 1, 3, 4, Ezra 7

Younger Elementary children continued in the  Jesus Storybook Bible with preparing for Advent .

*I wonder why the people of God thought He would punish them when they realized they couldn’t keep the law?

*I wonder why they had a week long party?  What was the party like?

*I wonder what it means that God Himself was going to come?

*I wonder how the People of God were ready for God to come?

Grades 2-4, Setting up the Tabernacle, Exodus 40

Older Elementary children are spending November and some of December studying key stories of Exodus.

*I wonder why the priests had to wear sacred clothing?

*I wonder which part of the furnishings was the most interesting: the lamp, the ark, the altar, the basin etc?

*I wonder why everything had to be done so carefully setting up the tabernacle?

*I wonder what it was like when the Glory of the Lord came down on the tabernacle?

Grades 5-6 What does it mean to be human?: How did humans become broken?

*Reread Genesis 3.  What struck you about this passage?  What do you wonder about it still?

*What is an area where sin or doing the wrong thing feels good in your own life?  Why is it hard?  How do you respond to that temptation?

Grade 7-8 Mark 6:1-29

Each week the Older Middle Schoolers will look at a new passage in Mark.

1. Reread this week’s passage.  What does this passage teach me about Jesus as Controversial?

2. What does this passage teach me about following Jesus?

3. So what? (What difference does this make for my life?)

image3.JPG
The grades 7-8 class painted a large chalkboard in the foyer of the DIG space.  They are displaying some of their reflection there from their study of Mark.  Make sure to check it out!
Leave a Reply

