Thanksgiving Tree

“Addie what are you thankful for?” I say, taking a swing of my morning coffee while wiping up applesauce and yogurt that’s been swirled all over my son Ollie’s tray.  My daughter reaches into the basket and carefully chooses a paper leaf.  She uncaps the pen and draws looping lines all over the back.  She holds it up, saying proudly “Mommy, Lucy, and God.”

DSC_0519

As Thanksgiving nears, I’m struck how quickly I start each day focused on what needs to be accomplished and not resting thankfully in the reality of what God has already accomplished for us.  As a family, we’ve been collecting things to be thankful for and hanging them on branches of a “tree”.  Although I began this practice to cultivate gratitude in our children, I see I need the reminder just as much to be grateful that God is the giver of all things.

Here’s some suggestions in creating your own Thanksgiving Tree:

1.  Place some branches in a vase.  Cut out paper leaves and hole punch them.

2.  Each day during a meal, talk together about what everyone is thankful for.  Write the items on the leaves and add them to the branches.

3.  Praise God for His provision and faithfulness.

I got the idea from Ann Voskamp’s blog, A Holy Experience.

Here is a post with printables and scriptures references for making your own Thanksgiving tree: http://www.aholyexperience.com/2012/11/a-christian-family-thanksgiving-activity-the-thanks-giving-tree-free-printable/

2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Tree

  1. Pingback: Thanksgiving – BeFree DIG

Leave a Reply

