Family Devotions Guide

Several weeks ago Bjorn Anderson preached on the integrated life as it applies to our families.  He talked about how Jesus must come first and when that happens Christ’s love flows to our families.  He encouraged us to consider practices throughout the week where we gather as a family to discuss and remember who God is and what He has done for us.

DSC_0732

One practice I attempt to do with my children is daily devotions.  I don’t know about you but I find trying to have regular devotions with kids hard many days.  When I start the morning with a drooly infant throwing food on the floor, or a grumpy toddler refusing to eat, the last thing I want to do is praise God with them.  And yet those are the very days my kids and I need to spend time with Jesus the most and receive his love yet again.  Devotions can feel like another thing to check off on our to do list.  But instead, they are about creating a space for God to work in our hearts and the hearts of our kids, even if my daughter is dancing circles around me while I read the Jesus Story Book Bible.

Below I have compiled a list of resources to use in beginning or growing a family devotion time.  This is by no means an exhaustive list.  If there’s a particular area you are interested in and want more resources, please email me-I’d love to share what I know or find more for you.

Hearing God’s Word Resources

Responding to God’s Word Resources

  • Sing the Bible with Bugs and Slugs-Scripture memory for toddlers and preschoolers.  Slightly zany and fun.  (http://www.slugsandbugs.com/)
Leave a Reply

